Chakras: The Hidden Keys to Your Inner Freedom

The word chakra comes from the ancient Sanskrit language of India and simply means wheel or circle. The term describes the whirlpools or vortices of energy located along the central axis of our bodies in the spinal cord and brain. Chakras spin and draw Life Force Energy into the physical body. 

The chakra system is over 4,000 years old and has been applied both in the Yoga philosophy and in Auyrveda medicine. Each chakra is linked to glands, organs, and the nervous system in an integrated fashion. – Journal of Behaviroal Optometry

Locations of the Chakras

Indian heritage calls the chakras the 7 shining places in the body: brain (Sahasrara), medulla oblongata (Ajna), and the 5 spinal centers—cervical (Visuddha), dorsal (Anahata), lumbar (Manipura), sacral (Svadhisthana), and coccygeal (Muladhara). 


7th – crown or uppermost part of the cerebrum
6th – third eye connected by polarity with the medulla oblongata or brain stem

Spinal Centers

5th – Cervical or throat
4th – Dorsal or heart
3rd – Lumbar or solar plexus
2nd – Sacral or pelvis
1st – Coccygeal or base of spine

Chakra Colors & Frequencies

Each chakra is associated with a color and these colors are arranged in the same way as the colors of the rainbow. Colors emit frequencies and therefore have a certain vibratory rate. In ascending order from the root chakra to the crown chakra, the colors of the chakras and their corresponding color frequencies are as follows. You will notice that the vibration of each chakra increases as you move upward from the base toward the crown chakra.  


Chakra Color Frequency THz
Root Red 430-480
Sacral Orange 480-510
Solar Plexus Yellow 510-540
Heart Green 540-580
Throat Sky Blue 580-610
Third Eye Indigo Blue 610-670
Crown Violet 670-750

The Meaning of our Chakras

Each chakra expresses a different emotional quality, such as love or being able to express yourself. These qualities can manifest in a positive or negative way, depending on which direction your energy is heading. It all comes down to INTENTION.

1st – Root Chakra

This chakra is located at the base of the spine. It represents physical security. When our consciousness is going downward in this chakra, we become too attached to material things, greedy, and insecure with ourselves. When we raise our energy up through this chakra, our relationship with the material world becomes balanced.     

2nd – Sacral

The second chakra is two inches below the belly button, in the area of the reproductive organs. This chakra represents creativity, and how we use sexual energy. In its lower form, it causes a misuse of sexual energy with the goal of manipulating others. As we raise our state of consciousness in this chakra, we no longer abuse our sexuality but use it in a respectful way.      

3rd – Solar Plexus

The solar plexus chakra is two inches above the belly button. It represents our personal power and self-confidence. Its lower form can cause the desire for selfish power. As with all choices, it comes down to INTENTION. In its higher form, we become empowered with a service-to-others mentality and altruistic attitude. 

4th – Heart

The fourth chakra, also known as the heart chakra, is located in the center of the chest. This chakra is all about love. In its highest form, this love is all-embracing and unconditional. In its lower form, it is based on restrictions. There are many kinds of love: personal relationships, love for a friend, etc. Keep your heart open so that you can allow love to enter your life. 

5th – Throat

This chakra is in the throat area. In its higher form, it represents our ability to express ourselves authentically and genuinely. We feel empowered to speak the truth. When our energy is directed downward in this chakra, we speak dishonestly and tell lies. Instead of feeling inner fortitude, we may feel restless, uneasy, and vulnerable.      

6th – Third Eye

This chakra represents our intuition and higher wisdom. It has two poles, positive and negative, like a battery. The negative pole is at the base of the skull, where the medulla oblongata is located in the brain. This is where our ego resides. By raising our state of consciousness through this chakra, we are able maintain our connection to our Higher Self and intuitive wisdom.

7th – Crown

The seventh chakra is at the top of the head. It is also known as the crown chakra or thousand-petaled lotus. It represents our connection to Source, the Creator, or All That Is. It is our link to a higher power that is greater than ourselves. It is at this chakra where we completely merge with Divine Energy. When this chakra is open, we feel strong, connected, joyful, and free.  


Authored by Susan Kapatoes, founder of Inspire Your Journey.



Berne, S. (2012). The Science of Measuring Wellness. [online]. Journal of Behavioral Optometry. Volume 23/Number 3/Pages 63-67. Available at:

Bruno, Thomas J. and Svoronos, Paris D. N. (2005). CRC Handbook of Fundamental Spectroscopic Correlation Charts. CRC Press.

Darecki, Y. (n.d.). chakras. [online] Available at: